Smith, Roesner and Tuholski elected to ICGA board in July - Indiana Corn and Soy

Smith, Roesner and Tuholski elected to ICGA board in July

Scott Smith

Smith, a Windfall, Ind., farmer, was first elected to the ICGA board in 2019. Although new to ICGA, both Tuholski and Roesner have experience on the state’s soybean and corn checkoff boards. Tuholski, a Mill Creek, Ind., farmer, served for nine years on the Indiana Soybean Alliance (ISA) board from 2011-2019, and he was the ISA chair in 2018. Roesner, a farmer from Ferdinand, Ind., is an active member of the Indiana Corn Marketing Council (ICMC) board, and he is its vice president.

The election results were revealed on July 19. Smith was re-elected to District 5, which includes the counties of Delaware, Tipton, Madison, Grant, Hamilton, and parts of Howard. Roesner will represent District 8, replacing Mike Nichols, who complete his nine years of service later this year. District 8 includes all of Vermillion, Parke, Vigo, Clay, Owen, Greene, Sullivan, Knox, Daviess, Martin, Gibson, Pike, Dubois, Posey, Vanderburgh, Warrick, Spencer, Perry, Orange, Crawford and part of Fountain counties.

Joe Juholski

Tuholski was elected in District 2. He will follow Christian Rosen, who is also finishing his nine-year term on the board. District 2 includes all of St. Joseph, Elkhart, Marshall, Starke, Fulton, Pulaski, Miami, Wabash, and parts of Cass, Kosciusko and LaPorte counties.

“We want to congratulate the new board members, but first we’d like to sincerely thank Mike Nichols and Christian Rosen who will complete their terms on the board in November,” said ICGA CEO Courtney Kingery. “Your service to the ICGA board has been much appreciated.”

The seating of new board members will occur at the Nov. 29 board meeting; however, they will be invited to attend the August board meeting for Board Orientation.

Along with his wife, Terri, Smith owns Triple S Smith Farms and Sharp-View Farms in Tipton,

Madison, Grant and Howard counties. He has a diversified, third-generation farm that produces corn, soybeans and process tomatoes. A full-time farmer, Smith began farming in 1974.

Smith’s goal is to promote economic and environmental policies that help Indiana farmers and to encourage the growth of the state’s ethanol industry. “As a corn producer, I want to promote the ethanol industry,” he said. “I also want to protect farmers’ rights from government regulations. I am supportive of food safety and legal immigration to provide a sufficient workforce for farmers.”

Tuholski raises 2,500 acres of corn, seed corn, popcorn, soybeans, alfalfa and wheat on his farm in LaPorte and St. Joseph counties near Mill Creek, Ind. The Tuholski farm also has feeder steers and dairy heifers. Tuholski started farming in 1995. He has two children: Nathan and Lukas.

“We have a basic corn and soybean farm,” Tuholski said. “We are 100 percent no-till and also use cover crops. I hope to proactively support Indiana agriculture by being a voice locally, statewide and nationally.”

J.R. Roesner

An ICMC board member since 2015, Roesner was also elected in July to the National Corn Growers Association’s (NCGA) Corn Board. Roesner is only the third Hoosier farmer to be elected to the Corn Board – the first since 2018. He and his wife, Charlotte, are raising two sons, Clayton, age 13, and Beau, age 10, on his farm that touches parts of Dubois, Pike, Spencer and Warrick counties.

“I grow corn, soybeans and wheat in cooperation with my brother,” Roesner explained. “We farm in four counties in southwestern Indiana. I have been farming full-time since graduating from Purdue University in 2000.”






Powered by Lapero